Para Español, Oprima el Dos!

Earlier this weekLevana Kirschenbaum blogged about domestic disputes and gourmet food and Spanish chocolate-chip cookies. She has been blogging all week for the Jewish Book Council and MyJewishLearning‘s Author Blog.
As a language enthusiast I have often deplored the fact that languages, against all wishes, are not contagious or transmissible by any means. In the absence of some reliable formal base, except for some language geniuses there is rarely ever a way to just “pick up” a language, in the streets as it were, and I have often noted with some dismay that Arabic and French, in which I conduct many conversations with my relatives in my husband and children’s presence, remain hopelessly impenetrable to them. Continue reading here.

One response to “Para Español, Oprima el Dos!

  1. I don’t keep a kosher kitchen, but the recipe for Black Bean Chocolate Soup sounds mouth watering and exotic. I plan to try it and other interesting recipes in Lavana’s cookbook. My mother’s kitchen and the wonderful dishes she produced are inextricably woven into the fabric of my memoir I wrote of growing up in South Africa under apartheid.

    Best Wishes,

    Claire Datnow

Leave a Reply

