Unraveling the Mystery of Jewish Food

June Hersh is the author of The Kosher Carnivore: The Ultimate Meat and Poultry Book, available this week. She will be blogging all week for the Jewish Book Council and MyJewishLearning‘s Author Blog.
As a food writer you need to be prepared to answer just about any question tossed at you during a Q&A. I like to feel I know my subject matter inside and out, and I admit to late night Googling (that sounds x-rated) to research something I am not 100% certain of. While I should be dreaming of food, I am instead trying to unravel its mysteries. My obsession with information is justified as I have been asked if a free-range chicken is happier than its caged neighbor, or whether America’s fascination with hummus is a fad or here to stay.  Continue reading here.

3 responses to “Unraveling the Mystery of Jewish Food

  1. The real mystery is spiritual. Did you know that when you are biting into a krepl you’re eating Divine justice covered by Divine mercy. Yes, it’s a kaballistic food and there are others like it, including the ubiquitious apple and honey. Apples are the ultimate kaballah food, They evoke the scent of paradise.

  2. Pingback: A Picture Perfect Day | Jewish Book Council Blog

  3. Pingback: Settling a Debate in an NYC Cab | Jewish Book Council Blog

Leave a Reply

